5 Must-Have Credentials for IT Security Professionals for 2017 and Beyond


Did you know? An estimated 86% of IT recruiters take professional credentials into account when evaluating applicants.*

it security training library

Businesses are taking a proactive approach to reduce vulnerability to cyberattacks by scrambling to hire and train IT security, or cybersecurity, professionals. More specifically, many organizations and IT professionals are bolstering their knowledge via certificate programs. But while a number of third-party organizations offer certifications, a select few IT security certifications garner great respect within the field. Here are 5 of the top cybersecurity certifications:


CompTIA A+ Certification

The CompTIA Security+ certification demonstrates that an IT professional has the skills to secure a corporate network and deter hackers. Given the tremendous amount of corporate data stored within global businesses, it’s critical to adopt effective security practices. Concepts covered include essential principles for network security and risk management as laid out by CompTIA. CompTIA Security+ is globally recognized as the standard for securing the data stored and transmitted on any network.

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH v9) – EC-Council
The Certified Ethical Hacker Certification demonstrates an IT professional has an understanding of how to look for weaknesses and vulnerabilities in target systems. He or she uses the same knowledge and tools as a malicious hacker, but in a lawful manner to assess the security of a target system(s) and plug holes in networks before black hat hackers find them. The CEH credential certifies individuals in the specific network security discipline of Ethical Hacking from a vendor-neutral perspective.

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)
As enterprises continue to use advanced technology, the need to properly configure, monitor, support, and secure their networks. Understand common security threats to Cisco devices, as well as all network devices and networks. The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) understands the principles of Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching, Security, and Wireless certifications. Knowledge areas include: System & Network Management, Access Control Lists, Common Layer 2 Attacks, IP Services & Security, WLAN Security and Maintenance.

Certified Information Systems Auditor
The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification, previously known as the Information Systems Audit and Control Association, is an ISACA certification. A CISA certificate designates those who control, audit, monitor, and assess IT and business systems. Those who earn the certification have demonstrated their audit skills and the ability to assess vulnerabilities, establish controls, and report on compliance within the enterprise.

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)
The Certified Information Systems Security Professional credential covers eight central domains: asset security, communications and network security, identity and access management, security assessment and testing, security engineering, security operations, security and risk assessment and software development security. The CISSP exam, administered via an online portal, features 250 questions.







Preventing Data Breaches CASE STUDY: Maser Gets Proactive in Preventing Data Breaches

In this case study, find out how Maser Consulting P.A. realized the need to protect against a cyberattack or a data breach, where sensitive info about clients or the company is put at risk, lost or stolen.

“The fact that we have access to such a wide variety of IT and security learning content for both our IT professionals and our staff is a huge plus!” — Allison Colantuoni, PHR, SHRM-CP, Director of Human Resources/Principal Associate, Maser Consulting P.A.

Want to Know More?

Reach out and a Vector Solutions representative will respond back to help answer any questions you might have.