What Is the ISO 9001 Quality Management Standard?


ISO 9001 Quality Management Standard Image

The ANSI/ASQ 9001: 2015 Quality Management Systems Standard is the US national standard for Quality Management Systems (QMS).

It is an identical adoption of the ISO 9001 standard for Quality Management Systems.

If you’d like to learn more, read on. Also, know that we’ve got a nice (and free!) 7 Basic Tools of Quality download for you at the bottom of this article, as well as the following other Quality-related downloads for you: Deming’s 14 Management Points Guide, DMAIC Infographic, and PDCA Cycle infographic.

What Is the ANSI/ASQ 9001: 2015 Quality Management Systems Standard?

As we mentioned above, ANSI/ASQ 9001:2015 is US national standards for quality management systems, and it’s the US adoption of the ISO 9001: 2015 Quality Management standard.

Here’s how the ASQ explains it:

ISO 9001 is defined as the international standard that specifies requirements for a quality management system (QMS). Organizations use the standard to demonstrate the ability to consistently provide products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements. It is the most popular standard in the ISO 9000 series and the only standard in the series to which organizations can certify.

ISO 9001 was first published in 1987 by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), an international agency composed of the national standards bodies of more than 160 countries. The current version of ISO 9001 was released in September 2015.

What’s a Quality Management System (QMS), Anyway?

Here’s how ASQ defines a quality management system:

A quality management system (QMS) is defined as a formalized system that documents processes, procedures, and responsibilities for achieving quality policies and objectives. A QMS helps coordinate and direct an organization’s activities to meet customer and regulatory requirements and improve its effectiveness and efficiency on a continuous basis.

When Was ANSI/ASQ 9001 Last Updated?

Just like ISO 9001, the standard was updated in 2015. Be sure you’re using (or buying) the most recent version.

Conclusion: The ISO/ANSI/ASQ 9001 Standard for Quality Management Systems

If you’re looking to up your quality game (so to speak), ISO/ANSI/ASQ 9001 is the place to start. One great place to look is by checking out our online training course on the ISO 9000 quality standards.

If you’re already using the standard, let us know about your experiences and tips by using the comments section below.

And before you leave, please do download our FREE GUIDE TO THE 7 BASIC TOOLS OF QUALITY, BELOW.


Free 7 Tools of Quality Guide Download

Get this free guide to the 7 Basic Tools of Quality, widely used in quality assurance (QA) and other continuous improvement processes.

Download Free Guide


Want to Know More?

Reach out and a Vector Solutions representative will respond back to help answer any questions you might have.